New! Get latest job opportunities and find your dream job with us.

Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Poll Of Exit Polls Live: Voting Ends, Over To Exit Polls

cavvvvmg meghalaya

Poll of exit polls 2023: Elections were held in Meghalaya and Nagaland today.

New Delhi:

Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland were the first states to hold assembly elections this year. While Tripura voted on February 16, elections were held in Meghalaya and Nagaland today. In Meghalaya, polling was held at 3,419 polling stations across 59 Assembly constituencies in the state while in Nagaland, voting was held in 59 out of 60 Assembly constituencies. Tripura recorded nearly 88 per cent in the one-day assembly elections.

While the counting of votes will take place on March 2, all eyes are now on the exit polls which will predict results this evening.

Exit polls, though, can often get it wrong.

Here are the LIVE updates on the Poll of Exit Polls:

Get String Reveals UpdatesTurn on notifications to receive alerts as this story develops.

National People’s Party To Retain Meghalaya, Shows Exit Poll
The National People’s Party will retain Meghalaya with 21 to 26 seats, according to Zee News-Matrize exit poll. It predicted eight to thirteen seats for Trinamool and six to eleven for BJP.

Exit Poll Predict BJP-NDPP Victory In Nagaland
Zee News-Matrize exit poll has predicted a huge win for BJP-NDPP in Nagaland with 35-43 seats. Congress will get around one to three seats and NPF two to five, it predicted.

1st Exit Poll Shows BJP Winning In Tripura
India Today exit poll shows BJP winning around 36-45 seats out of 60 assembly seats in Tripura with Tipra Motha behind with 9-16 seats.

Nagaland Assembly Elections: Key Constituencies
In Nagaland, among the key constituencies are Northen Angami, which will determine the poll fate of NDPP candidate and Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio; Tiyu where BJP candidate and Deputy Chief Minister Yanthungo Patton; Peren where a two-time Chief Minister TR Zeliang will be contesting the election as NDPP candidate.

Nagaland BJP chief Temjen Imna Along will contest from Alongtaki seat. In the present government, he is also serving as a Minister of Higher and Technical Education. Only Janata Dal (United) has fielded its candidate J Lanu Longchar from this seat.

Ghaspani is another seat that is attracting all the eyeballs. BJP has fielded N Jacob Zhimomi and Akavi N Zhimomi is in fray as Congress candidate.

Phek is another constituency to watch out for in the elections. NPF leader Kuzholuzo Nienu will be contesting from this seat. While the NDPP has fielded Kupota Khesoh, Congress has given ticket to Zacilhu Ringa Vadeo and S Akho Leyri is a NPF candidate.

In Dimapur-III, where NDPP candidate Hekani Jakhalu is in fray while the newbie Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) has given ticket to Azheto Zhimomi from this seat.

The other major constituencies are Dimapur-I, Southern Angami l, Southern Angami I, Chozuba, Koridang, Koridang, Bhandari, Sanis, Zunheboto, Kohima, Western Angami, Longleng, and Seyochung Sitimi

Meghalaya assembly polls 2023: Key constituencies

Kere’s a look at the key Meghalaya constituencies:

South Tura

The first on the list is South Tura where the battle is between Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and BJP’s Bernard N Marak. The Congress has fielded Brenzield Ch Marak in this seat.

West Shillong

The second on the list is West Shillong where BJP has fielded its state chief Ernest Mawrie, who is among the most prominent faces of the party in the state. Mohendro Rapsang is the candidate of the ruling NPP and is pitted against TMC’s Iwan Maria.

Sutnga Saipung

The seat becomes significant as the Congress’ state chief Vincent Pala is contesting for the first time from the Sutnga Saipung constituency. Pala’s performance in the elections could have a significant impact on the political landscape of Meghalaya.

Currently serving as the Member of Parliament from Shillong, he will be competing against the incumbent Sutnga Saipung MLA Shitlang Pale of UDP and NPP candidate Santa Mary Shylla and BJP’s Krison Langstang.

Songsak and Tikrikilla

These two constituencies have become prominent as the former chief minister and current Leader of the Opposition in Meghalaya, Mukul Sangma, is contesting these two seats on a TMC ticket.

In the 2018 elections, Sangma won from both the Ampati and Songsak constituencies as a Congress candidate.

However, he quit the Congress and joined the Trinamool Congress in 2021.

2023 Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Exit Polls: Timing And Where To Watch
The three northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland went to polls this month. Voting in Tripura took place on February 16 and in Meghalaya and Nagaland on February 27. The votes for all the three states will be counted on March 2.

After the voting concludes in Meghalaya and Nagaland today, the exit poll results, which are based on research by various agencies, will be declared. The Election Commission of India (ECI) has banned exit polls in Meghalaya from 7 am on Friday to 7 pm on Monday.

Nagaland Polls: Triangular Contest On Cards In 59 Seats
A triangular contest is on the cards in 59 of the 60 assembly constituencies in Nagaland. The BJP, which won 12 of the state’s 60 seats in 2018, is contesting in alliance with the NDPP (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party). Under the seat-sharing agreement, the NDPP is contesting on 40 seats and the BJP on 20 seats.

Meghalaya Assembly Elections: Around 19,000 Personnel, Polling Staff Deployed On Duty
The Election Commission stepped up security arrangements for controlling the law and order situation in the state. “11 Zonal magistrates, 73 sector magistrates and nearly 30 Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) companies have been deployed in the district for a smooth election. Each polling team had four personnel. 30 CAPF companies were deployed in vulnerable and critical polling stations,” the Deputy Commissioner of West Garo Hills district told ANI.

Meghalaya: Trinamool Largest Opposition Party
Trinamool has become the largest opposition party in Meghalaya following the defection of former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and several other Congress legislators. The Congress, which won 21 seats last time and became the single largest party, is seen to have suffered an erosion of its voter base.

Nagaland Polls: Congress Contesting In 23 Seats, Ally Naga People’s Front In 22 Seats
In Nagaland, the opposition Congress and the Naga People’s Front are contesting in 23 and 22 seats. The Congress has said it can opt for a post-poll alliance if needed.

PM Modi urged Meghalaya, Nagaland Voters To Vote In Record Numbers
P rime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday urged voters in Meghalaya and Nagaland to cast their votes in record numbers. Assembly polls were held in the two northeast states on Monday.

Featured Video Of The Day

“My Decision To Quit Politics, Nobody Forced Me”: BS Yediyurappa To String Reveals