New Delhi Mayor As we speak, Weeks After AAP-BJP Battle Stalled Ballot: 10 Factors


Share post:

Delhi will get a mayor for the town as a complete after a niche of 10 years.

New Delhi:
The high-stakes battle for Delhi’s principal municipal physique will conclude within the election of a mayor on Tuesday, weeks after a conflict between the Aam Aadmi Social gathering (AAP) and the BJP stalled the ballot.

Listed below are the ten newest developments on this story:

  1. Councillors of the Municipal Company of Delhi (MCD) will elect the mayor and a deputy mayor of Delhi, greater than a month after the AAP received the civic physique polls.

  2. The primary assembly of the 250-member MCD Home was referred to as off on January 6 with out electing the mayor amid loud protests by AAP councillors who alleged the BJP was attempting to wrest management of the civic physique regardless of dropping the elections.

  3. On Tuesday, presiding officer Satya Sharma of the BJP, appointed by the Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena, administered the oath to 10 nominated councillors first, regardless of the fierce opposition by the AAP within the final assembly. The AAP has mentioned these councillors, often known as aldermen, usually are not allowed to vote.

  4. Heavy safety, together with a bigger variety of civil defence personnel, and marshals, has been posted on the Civic Centre, the headquarters of the MCD.

  5. The AAP has nominated Shelly Oberoi for the function and likewise named one other candidate Ashu Thakur as “backup”. The BJP has nominated Rekha Gupta. The nominees for the publish of deputy mayor are Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (AAP) and Kamal Bagri (BJP).

  6. After dropping the polls, the BJP had first hinted it could struggle the AAP for the publish of mayor. The occasion then went again on the assertion, saying the mayor might be from the AAP. The occasion then did one more about-turn, saying it should contest the ballot in spite of everything.

  7. The civic polls have been held on December 4 and the counting of votes occurred on December 7. The AAP emerged because the clear winner within the polls, scoring 134 wards and ending the BJP’s 15-year rule within the civic physique. The BJP received 104 wards to complete second, whereas the Congress received 9 seats.

  8. The publish of mayor within the nationwide capital sees 5 single-year phrases on a rotation foundation, with the primary 12 months being reserved for girls, the second for the open class, the third for the reserved class, and the remaining two once more for the open class. Delhi will thus get a girl mayor this 12 months.

  9. This would be the first time in 10 years that the town may have one mayor following the merger of three divisions of the municipal physique final 12 months.

  10. The voters for the election of the mayor are 250 councillors, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi and 14 MLAs nominated by the Legislative Meeting. The Delhi Meeting Speaker has nominated one BJP MLA and 13 AAP MLAs to the MCD.

Hey I am Suresh Krishna, Here I am gathering information throughout world and put in front of you.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

PM Modi Seen In Parliament In This Particular Blue Jacket

<!-- -->New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who's prone to reply to the movement of thanks on the...

Moto E13 With Unisoc T606 SoC Launched in India at This Worth

Motorola has launched the entry-level Moto E13 smartphone in India on Wednesday. It incorporates a 6.5-inch IPS LCD...

TCS Scores $700 Million Deal In UK, Its Largest In 3 Years

<!-- -->TCS already supplies some companies for the Phoenix Group.Tata Consultancy Providers Ltd. has secured its largest UK...

New Day, New Dance Video From Akshay Kumar’s Important Khiladi Assortment

<!-- -->Akshay Kumar in a nonetheless from the video. (courtesy: akshaykumar)New Delhi: Akshay Kumar's Important Khiladi fever has...