Delhi Will get New Mayor At this time, Weeks After AAP-BJP Struggle Stalled Polls


Share post:

Delhi will get a mayor for the town as a complete after a spot of 10 years.

New Delhi:

The municipal home after the current high-stakes civic polls within the nationwide capital reconvened at this time throughout which the mayor and deputy mayor of Delhi are slated to be elected, weeks after the primary session was adjourned following a showdown between the AAP and the BJP.

Following the mayoral election, Delhi will get a mayor for the town as a complete after a spot of 10 years.

The maiden assembly of the newly elected 250-member MCD (Municipal Company of Delhi) Home on January 6 was adjourned with out electing the mayor and the deputy mayor amid loud protests by Aam Aadmi Occasion (AAP) councillors over the presiding officer’s resolution to manage oath to the ten aldermen first.

As per schedule shared by the MCD, Home proceedings started at 11 am.

Presiding officer Satya Sharma stated on Monday that the Lt Governor-appointed aldermen will take oath first, regardless of the fierce opposition by the AAP within the final assembly.

The agenda for the January 24 assembly talked about that councillors and members nominated as per the DMC Act, 1957 (amended in 2022) will take the oath. Nevertheless, it doesn’t specify the sequence of the oath-taking.

The civic polls had been held on December 4 and the counting of votes passed off on December 7.

The AAP had emerged as a transparent winner within the polls, bagging 134 wards and ending the Bharatiya Janata Occasion’s (BJP) 15-year rule within the civic physique.

The BJP received 104 wards to complete second whereas the Congress received 9 seats.

Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur are the AAP’s contenders for the publish of mayor. The BJP has nominated Rekha Gupta.

The nominees for the publish of deputy mayor are Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (AAP) and Kamal Bagri (BJP).

In addition to the mayor and the deputy mayor, six members of the MCD’s standing committee are additionally slated to be elected in the course of the municipal Home.

The publish of mayor within the nationwide capital sees 5 single-year phrases on a rotation foundation, with the primary 12 months being reserved for girls, second for open class, third for reserved class, and the remaining two once more for the open class.

Delhi will thus get a lady mayor this 12 months.

The voters for the election of the mayor are 250 councillors, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi and 14 MLAs nominated by the Legislative Meeting.

The Delhi Meeting Speaker has nominated one BJP MLA and 13 AAP MLAs to the MCD.

(Apart from the headline, this story has not been edited by String Reveals employees and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Featured Video Of The Day

Defined: What Is Collegium System

Hey I am Suresh Krishna, Here I am gathering information throughout world and put in front of you.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles

Novak Djokovic Reclaims Prime Spot In ATP Rankings | Tennis Information

Novak Djokovic reclaimed high spot within the ATP rankings launched on Monday after profitable his twenty second Grand...

Godhra Case: Supreme Courtroom Seeks Gujarat’s Response On Some Bail Requests

<!-- -->On February 27, 2002, 59 folks had been killed when a coach of the practice was burnt...

Rafael Nadal Reacts As Novak Djokovic Equals His 22 Grand Slam File With tenth Australian Open Title | Tennis Information

One of many biggest tennis gamers of all time, Novak Djokovic bagged his twenty second Grand Slam title...